Recently, I did a fresh install of my Macbook to the latest OS X Lion. What’s up with the fresh install, you might asked? Well, I skipped Snow Leopard. Plus I think, my old Leopard hard disk may had some problems with the File-System (due to force-shutdown & etc), of which I am not interested in troubleshooting. I’m pretty sure a wipe-clean and re-install would solve the problem. In less than an hour (not included time to download latest updates, after that) – I got Lion all new and nicely installed.

Okay… Among other things that got really simple and easy in Lion; setting up my BlackBerry to tether is also getting really simple.

As usual, I would install BlackBerry Desktop Software first. I don’t know if this is necessary should you just want to tether but not to sync your BlackBerry with your Mac. For me, I need both; so installing the Blackberry Desktop Manager would be my first step.

Configuring Tethering via USB

The first time I attached the phone via USB and open Network Preferences; Lion prompt me that a device with network interface is available. But that was it. Nothing happens after I clicked “OK”.

On the Network Preferences screen, bottom-left menu; click ‘+’ sign. You will notice the ‘available device’ it prompted you earlier, is available for selection in the ‘interface’ drop-down menu.

Create USB Interface
Create USB Interface

And then, rename the “Service Name” as you wish. Click ‘create’.

Rename the Service
Rename the Service

Click Advanced…

Advance Options
Using "Research In Motion" Settings

Choose your vendor and model as per shown in picture above. I think, “Research In Motion” is in the list because I installed the BlackBerry software, prior. APN, Account Name and Password; as usual ‘celcom3g’. Done? Click ‘OK’. Then click “Apply” and you’re set.

Complete
Complete

A friend told me that vendor=”generic” with model=”GSM” will also work and I tried; it works, but sometimes it didn’t. I don’t want to waste time troubleshooting, since I have “RIM” option and it works every time, so far.

Using "Generic" Setting
Using "Generic" Settings

Configuring Tethering via Bluetooth

Click ‘+’ on the Network Preferences page. Then, Interface = Bluetooth DUN. Rename the service as you like and click “Create”.

Bluetooth DUN
Bluetooth DUN

Highlight the network name from the left pane, in my case it’s “Bold-BT-Tether”. Then click “Set Up Bluetooth Device…”. Even if you have paired your Mac to the BlackBerry before, I think this step is still applicable to make this connection to work.

Okay, let your Mac search for the BlackBerry (make sure you turn your BlackBerry Discoverable = “On” or “2 minutes”. Once found, select/highlight your BlackBerry and click ‘Continue’.

Select Your Bluetooth Device
Select Your Bluetooth Device

Enter your pairing code as displayed into your Blackberry.

Pairing Code
Pairing Code

Click “Continue”, and Bluetooth Setup Assistant will congratulates you, and you may click “Quit”. And now, going back to the Network Preferences interface, click “Advance”. Go ahead choose whether you want to use “RIM” or “Generic” as the vendor. Model is GSM. APN is ‘celcom3g’. CID = 1 (default). Done? Click “OK”.

Back to the main screen, put the Account Name and Password, both “celcom3g”. And click “Apply”.

Alright, now you have both USB and Bluetooth interfaces for tethering.

Tether via USB or Bluetooth
Tether via USB or Bluetooth
